Not Just Friends…to my wife

We were only kids who never would meet until “chance” took our hands.

When you were sixteen and I was fourteen we lived in very different lands.

But He knew what he was doing and moved me closer to you

We still didn’t meet in the town we lived but later in a place very new.

 

I didn’t know Him back then and I know you did, my life was sure a mess

You see if it weren’t for God and you I would not have found the goodness

That comes from knowing Him and now that has become my preference

My life is different oh yeah, great kids and grandkids, what a difference

 

How was it that you said yes to me and would still call me friend?

I never quite understood that and wondered what gift I could send

But you never needed anything to at all, just an ear to listen to you

And a place to come in case you needed to count a minute or two

 

One of these days I will call myself lucky but until then I will love you

I love to see you everyday and know how you are doing and see what’s new

We are married, and you are still my friend and I will never know why

God put us together but I know that until the day that I die

 

You will always be a part of who I am and I thank Him for giving you to me.

 

~ by jimmccord on October 21, 2008.

Leave a comment