DADDY’S LITTLE GIRL

There’s a girl I know

She once lived with me

Who wed and moved away

But she I will always see

 
Bouncing on my knee

And played with me in the yard

She will always, always be…

Her daddy’s little girl

 

This no so little girl

Was always tough and strong

She wanted to be first and

Never wanted to be wrong

 

Her heart is one with God’s

And tender to all she knows

Her humor and smile brightens

Until the whole room glows

 

 

 

 

I walked her down the aisle

And gave her away
But she never stopped being
Her daddy’s little girl 

Today she will give birth
To her own little child
A baby of her own
A little man, Hallelujah

 

In the past few days

God has changed you forever

A little boy to you is given

Daddy’s little girl is a mother

 

Teardrops have fallen

Smiles and songs swirl

But nothing has changed

You’re still Daddy’s little girl

 

~ by jimmccord on November 2, 2008.

Leave a comment